Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Penn State Science
You are here: Home About Awards and Honors 2007


Main Content

Faculty, staff, and student awards for 2007
  • Barry J. Marshall, co-recipient of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, accepted an appointment at Penn State as the Francis R. and Helen M. Pentz Professor of Science to further his groundbreaking research in bacterial infections.

  • Andrey Krasilnikov and Anton Nekrutenko, both assistant professors of biochemistry and molecular biology at Penn State, have received Young Investigator Awards from the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. The award recognizes the most promising young faculty members in the chemical and life sciences. The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation Young Investigator Award recognizes young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers. (5/31/07)

  • Carsten Krebs promoted to Associate Professor and David Gilmour promoted to Professor. (5/20/07)

  • Wendy Hanna-Rose was named a winner of the C. I. Noll Award for Excellence in Teaching. Sponsored by the Eberly College of Science Student Council and Alumni Society, the award is designed to recognize faculty members who have taken a special interest in students and who, through interaction with students, have had a positive impact upon them. Instituted in 1972 and named in honor of Clarence I. Noll, dean of the college from 1965 to 1971, the award is the highest honor for undergraduate teaching in the college. Winners are chosen by a committee of students and faculty from nominees suggested by students, faculty, and alumni. (5/10/07)

  • Frank Pugh appointed Willaman Chair in Molecular Biology. (5/9/07)

  • Spring Awards Reception honors winners.  (5/4/07)

    * Wedler Outstanding Schreyer Scholar Dissertation Award, Anastasiya Yakhnina (Keiler)

    * Wedler Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, Jennifer Biddle (Brenchley)

    * Undergraduate Scholarships/Fellowships, Leah Liu (Hanna-Rose)--Goldwater Scholarship

    * Graduate Scholarships/Fellowships, Sarah Barchinger (Ades)--National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship

    * Postdoctoral Scholarships/Fellowships, Jennifer Biddle (Brenchley)--NASA Postdoctoral Fellowship

  • Wei Jiang (Bollinger/Krebs labs) and R. Tom Koerber (Pugh/Tan labs) were the co-recipients of the Paul Berg Prize in Molecular Biology.  They were recognized at the Marker Lectures in Genetic Engineering. (4/07)

  • Frank Pugh, Stephan Schuster, and colleagues reveal structure of gateways to gene control. (3/29/07)

  • Julie Maresca, a BMMB graduate student in Don Bryant's lab, won the 2007 Graduate School Alumni Dissertation Award and a prize of $5000.  The award has been in existence six years, and each year a BMMB student has received the award.  Previous winners were Kate Huisinga (Pugh), Shilpa Mehta (Ng), Yumiko Sakuragi (Bryant), Lana Saleh (Bollinger) and Rob Cicchillo (Booker).  (12/15/06)